Honor Awards

2015 Statewide Preservation Honor Awards Presented March 4


This slideshow requires JavaScript.


This year’s Preservation Honor Awards ceremony took place at 11: 00 a.m. Wednesday, March 4, 2015 in the Capitol Rotunda in Jefferson City. Despite the snowy March weather, we had a great ceremony. Thirteen recipients were recognized for their achievements in historic preservation in Missouri.  This year’s honorees were:

The Rozier Award

Dr. Thomas B. Hall, III – Arrow Rock, Saline County

The McReynolds Award

Penny Pitman, Ironstar, Inc. – St. Charles, St. Charles County

Daughters of the American Revolution – Boonville, Cooper County

Guy Slay, Mangrove Development, City of Saint Louis

Osmund Overby Award

“Echoes of School Bells: The HIstory of Jasper County Missouri Rural Schools”

by Helen Katherine Hunter – Jasper County

Preserve Missouri Award

Freedom Place – City of Saint Louis

Jacob Price Home, 1413 Lafayette – Lexington, Lafayette County

Bancroft School Apartments- Kansas City, Jackson County

The Francois Bernier House – Ste. Genevieve, Ste. Genevieve County

Ironton Lodge Hall – Ironton, Iron County

The Cosby Hotel – Kansas City, Jackson County

Shakespeare Chateau Inn – St. Joseph, Buchanan County

The A.C. Vasterling Building – Cape Girardeau, Cape Girardeau County



The Rozier Award

Named in honor of Elizabeth McReynolds Rozier, one of the founding members of Missouri Preservation and a noted Jefferson City Preservationist, the Rozier Award was established to recognize individuals who have made significant achievements in the field of historic preservation in Missouri. This is Missouri Preservation’s most prestigious annual award.

The McReynolds Awards

The McReynolds Awards, also named in honor of Elizabeth McReynolds Rozier, are given annually to individuals or groups who have made significant achievements in the field or are in the midst of a long-term preservation project. The McReynolds awards are among the most important awards given out each year by the organization.

Osmund Overby Award

The Overby Award was established in 2003 to recognize published works that contribute to the documentation and interpretation of Missouri’s architectural history. It honors Dr. Osmund Overby, Founding member of Missouri Preservation, Art History Professor Emeritus and former head of the historic preservation program at the University of Missouri, Columbia. Dr. Overby was a nationally recognized leader in historic preservation.

The Preserve Missouri Awards

Presented for the first time in 2000, the Preserve Missouri awards recognize outstanding efforts and projects around the state. Suggested categories include, but are not limited to: Commercial Revitalization,  Institutional/Civic Building Restoration, Neighborhood Revitalization, Residential Rehabilitation, Historic Landscape Preservation, Rural Preservation, and Preservationist-in-Action.

2015 Program

Click Here for the 2014 Honor Awards

Click Here for the 2013 Honor Awards

Click here for the 2012 Honor Awards

Click here for the 2011 Honor Awards

Comments are closed.

Resource Directory

Friend us on Facebook

%d bloggers like this: